I just Dump-located my shoulder

In what can only be described as a “classic mix-up,” I popped my shoulder way out of place this morning trying to put on deodorant. Granted, this is not the weirdest way I’ve injured my shoulder (eating ice cream, sleeping, dancing) but this does mark the most recent injury. I haven’t subluxated (information about subluxation can be found here: http://www.physioadvisor.com.au/10660350/shoulder-instability-shoulder-subluxation-phys.htm) my shoulder in nearly four years, but today, on my day off, disaster struck. I spent ten minutes pacing around my room, unable to replace the arm, snapped a photo (proof), throwing my body into hard objects trying to get it back in, before finally falling on my bed with my left arm dangling off when I felt the sweet pain of a shoulder going back to where it needs to go. There is nothing to do but laugh in situations like this (and panic, I did that too). I’m a seasoned vet when it comes to replacing body parts gone awry. That’s how I spent the first part of my day. Why am I not working? It’s a long story, but I’ll explain that another day. Onto the news, sah? (Side note: I am listening to Cat Power’s new album and it’s very enjoyable. Glad she put something out and it’s very upbeat.)

1. Let’s jump right into my neck of the woods. The Middle East, back in the news for all the wrong reasons. First things first, I have only been outside once today, but it didn’t look like there was any drama happening. The US embassy is really far away from me, and I have not heard of any reports that there are things (read: riots, protests ect.) happening there. But then again, they don’t call me with updates like that. TIME magazine put together a good summary of the unfolding drama if you were curious about how a fake person, a Islamic fundamentalist, Al-Qaeda operatives, and the “Burn the Qur’an guy” in Florida all play a part in this terrible tragedy. Also raises the question about the “Successfulness” of the Arab Spring. But again, if you’re someone who is concerned with me, don’t sweat it. The biggest worry I have today is whether or not I actually put on deodorant under my left arm. I sort of blacked out when the arm popped out.

http://world.time.com/2012/09/13/the-agents-of-outrage/

2. Since I was not around to hear the US media coverage of the iPhone 5 release, I’ll assume it was bombastic. I don’t actually know what that word means. It sounds like something a reggae DJ would say when he was introducing a cool song. In any case, WIRED compiled a list of what we needed to know about the release, in case the coverage was too much glitz but not about the actual hardware. It’s bigger, but lighter and thinner (Does that make sense?). Has more room for additional apps. Is made of Aluminum, and is going to be awesome.  They are also working to make sure no one ever has to buy a digital camera ever again, as they improved the already awesome camera.

http://www.wired.com/gadgetlab/2012/09/what-you-need-to-know-about-apples-new-iphone-5/?utm_source=twitter&utm_medium=socialmedia&utm_campaign=twitterclickthru

3. As mentioned above, I am using Spotify to listen to Cat Power. After 14 days, Spotify decided that my “vacation time” was up and made me buy the premium account. I did (I need to cancel my netflix account, as it’s not usable here). That’s fine. I like music and I’m willing to pay to have access to it. It’s easier than trying to download all these great new albums that are coming out. Anyway, apparently spotify is losing money, or maybe just as bad, breaking even with it’s free service. For everyone like me, willing to pay there are a lots of folks not to keen on spending money when there are other free services available. Spotify is looking to diversify their brand by 1) creating a web-based service, like Pandora, which would mean people don’t have to download something and 2) adding more ads to the free, encouraging people to buy the upgraded services. It’s a fine line they’re walking.

http://www.digitaltrends.com/music/report-spotify-planning-to-launch-browser-based-music-player/

4. My preferred photoblog took a week off at the beginning of the month, but they’re back now, and the first entry back is a real doozy. Tomatoes, everyone’s favorite fruit. What’s better? Throwing tomatoes at people at a “festival.” La Tomatina seems like a good way to spend a few hours and while the history of the event is a bit murky, turns out, people don’t really care. They show up in droves to huck tomatoes at one another and get them hucked at themselves. I would be bad at this event, because my arm would pop out of place, and then what would I do? Check out the pretty red (sort of like pretty rad!) photos of this event:

http://www.boston.com/bigpicture/2012/09/tomatina_2012.html

5. According to this long story by NYT statistician, Nate Silver, the people in charge of “weather” reports are actually geniuses and we should trust them more than we do. Since I’ve been in Doha, I’ve seen clouds a total of one time. It was quite the event. Like, “whoa! clouds!” But I guess in America, the men in charge of the weather service are total brainiacs who think that guys like Al Roeker, Sven Svenguard, and Charlie Shortino give them a bad name. There are actually guys sitting a room debating the merits of naming something a 20% chance of rain, or a 30%. If you’ve ever wanted to read about massive super computers devoted to weather algorithms and chaos, then here is your chance. Silver, as always, tackles something complex, but makes it understandable. I took a weather and climate class in college. I got a C, but not for lack of interest. More so for a lack of understanding how science works.

http://www.nytimes.com/2012/09/09/magazine/the-weatherman-is-not-a-moron.html?_r=1pagewanted=all&

6. From what I’ve read, NBCs new fall line-up features a few good new additions, and then the abomination that is “Men with Kids” (I watched a lot of ABC Family before I left, and there was a show exactly about this! Also, there was a movie about this! Do men with kids really interest that many people? Why am I not writing TV shows?) The WP decided to rank the greatest NBC sitcoms ever. I was weened on Seinfeld, so that’s where my heart lies, but many kids my age are Friends fanatics. Spoiler Alert, Friends is number 3. This list is based solely on shows of the last 25 years, so I apologize if it leaves out “true classics” but them the breaks, kid. Does Community crack the top 10? What about Night Court?

http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/celebritology/post/ranked-the-top-10-nbc-comedies-of-all-time/2012/09/10/9bb471e0-f90d-11e1-a073-78d05495927c_blog.html

7. Sometimes, we let dollar signs take us to places we wouldn’t in our right, richer minds, allow us to go. Here is a well-written story, by Anonymous, about how debt might take you to Kosovo and then Iraq. It’s proof that one) there is always an opportunity to have someone pay for your travel if you’re smart about it and two) that all travel comes with risk. Life, I guess, is about balancing the desire to travel with the desire for safety, security, and peace of mind of your loved ones. A good read for anyone who thinks that they want to go back to grad school or that they have Wunderlust.

http://thebillfold.com/2012/09/crushing-debt-drove-me-to-kosovo-and-then-to-iraq/

8. Boy what a heavy dump load today? Am I right? First the news of my shoulder, followed by the news of the Middle East turmoil. Then food fights. and Debt. And the fact that Friends isn’t number one?! Ugh. I’m sorry for being such a downer. The good news is that I am going to a knickknack market in a few moments, where I am supposed to be able to find anything I want for under 10QR, which like 3 bucks. I think this might be full of junk, but hey, I’m on an seemingly insatiable search for culture in this country. On my way out the door, I leave you with this super-cut of really bad Family Feud Answers. You can’t watch this without feeling better about your lot in life. So if I made you all frowny face, then boom, take 5 minutes to rid yourself of the monkey on your back.

http://www.uproxx.com/tv/2012/09/family-feud-worst-answers-supercut/#more-143786

Have a good weekend everyone. As always, I appreciate the comments, and page views. Keep up the good work. See you in the future.

Finally, Shoutout to my friend Clark, who is now an Ironman. That’s really cool. I obviously couldn’t do that, as I struggle to put on a stick in the morning. Good job.

Sam

note the bump.

2 comments

  1. Glad you are safe! Thanks for the updates!

  2. I loved the debt article. thanks for sharing. I’d love you to dump on something like this. http://blogs.citypages.com/blotter/2012/09/jesse_ventura_says_obama_is_basically_the_black_george_w_bush.php I’m always interested in good ventura dump. Hope you’re up to for the challenge.

Leave a comment